"WHEELS FOR WHEELCHAIRS" - - 2007 SAN LEANDRO SHOW

By Vern Hance, NCKCC

The show this year was again aimed to benefit the Wheelchair Foundation and support their work of providing wheelchairs to disabled people around the world. The response of spectators and exibitors was very generous allowing a direct contribution of \$1,371.67 to the Foundation as a result of our show. In addition Dave Coyle reported \$194.00 in direct contributions were received by the Wheelchair Foundation. So we can say our show provided them \$1,565.67 (just short of 21 wheelchairs).

The weather was pretty nice Saturday and Sunday with morning overcast and some wind in the afternoon. We had 59 cars registered this year including 14 Cobras, 7 Mercedes, 6 Ferraris, 5 Porsches, 2 Fords (Vintage '29 & '50), 3 Sterlings, 2 Tomahawks, 2 Street Rods and a host of other unique and special cars such as Bugatti, Gatsby, GTM, ZR-2 and Finale. We were very pleased to have exhibitors and spectators from many of the Western States. Alan Phillips (Finale) came from Idaho, Al Bohr and DanBurrill from Oregon and AHA members from Southern California included Dean Hornbacher (Cobra), David Hartman (GT-40), Mike Koken (Ferrari 250 GTO), Darren Friedman (Cobra) and I think I saw Dave Martin whose car is under construction. (My apologies if I missed someone.)

Darren Friedman took Best of Show with his polished aluminum Cobra with a dazzling display. The 1st Place Cobra was Curtis Tung's Factory Five jewel. Ed Robison took 2nd Place with his FFR Cobra. The 3rd Place Cobra was Dean Hornbacher's red Midstates beauty. Chuck & Marlys Moomey's Pacific Roadster Cobra took the *Kit Car Builder* Award.

In the Sports A class Marty & Bette Rosenthal took 1st place with their Kurtis 500S. Alan Phillips took 2nd Place with his Northstar powered Finale and 3rd Place went to David Borden with his beautiful Factory 5 GTM.

Sports B class was led by Harry Craycroft with his immaculate Porsche 550 Spyder taking 1st Place and the AHA Special Award. The 2nd Place trophy went to Mike Koken for his Z-based Ferrari 250 GTO and 3rd Place went Jim Vermace for his Sebring MX.

Classic C was dominated by big Neoclassics. 1st Place trophy went to Steve & Mary Ellen Bales Mercedes 500K, 2nd Place to Vern Hance Mercedes 500K and 3rd Place to Bill Navratil with his Gatsby.

Classic D saw Robert & Barbara Bohaboy take 1st Place for their Marlene. Alex Penalosa took 2nd with his Mercedes SSK and Dave DeCato took 3rd with his MG-TD. Andrew Rodarte received the "Ladies Choice Award" trophy for his beautiful yellow Sterling.

Special Interest 1st Place went to Gordon Rohse with his immaculate '32 Ford Coupe and Anthony & Esther Moniz took 2nd Place with their Ford Model A (Shay replica).

Clifford LaCasse took the Unfinished Award for his "almost finished" Ferrari 250 Cal Spyder, besting Joel Heinke who is still progressing on his unfinished Ferrari 250 GTO.

Other Trophies included the President's Award which went to Alan Phillips' red Finale. The Vice President's Award was received by Claude Calderon for his flawless Ferrari F-40. And the Show Chair's Award which went to Patrick Friel for his Porsche Speedster. The Honorable Workmanship Award went to Dave Jones for his beautiful restoration of a former Ferrari Testarossa. This car is now known as a Ponrari. The Recognition Award went to Rory Batemen for his Tomahawk.

Among the two manufacturer displays, a dune buggy that looks like a boulevard racer, was entered by George Todd of GT Innovations and took home the Manufacturer Award. A totally new car was the Merlin, a Ferrari inspired car, based on a Z-car, and designed by Merlyn Cofano in Petaluma, CA and shown by Ed Pizzuti of PK Designs.

One car, only shown on Saturday, which I thought it was noteworthy was called the "K1 Evoluzione". It was shown by Mario Botello of El Sobrante and is reportedly a Czechoslovak design applied to a late model Camero.

Our late Saturday "Snack & Beverage Time", that preceded the banquet, was held at the nearby Marina Inn in our private banquet room. The banquet was attended by 74 people, the largest turnout in our history. The raffle prizes were plentiful and gave everyone an excellent chance of being a winner.

We want to thank Leanne Jones, Show Chairperson, for her work that made this show a success and express our appreciation for the many members who worked at various assignments to make it all happen. And, of course, above all a huge thanks to those who brought their cars. The feed back I got says the show was appreciated by all.

Shown below are pictures of the Trophy Winners.

BEST OF SHOW

Darren Friedman

Polished Alumimum Kirkham Cobra



SPORTS A CLASS



1st Marty Rosenthal - Kurtis 500S



2nd Place + President's Awards Alan Phllips - Finale



3rd David Borden - GTM

SPORTS B CLASS



1st Place + AHA Awards Harry Craycroft - Porsche 550



2nd Mike Koken - Ferrari 250 GTO



3rd Jim Vermace - Sebring MX

CLASSIC C CLASS



1st Steve Bales - Mercedes 500K



2nd Vern Hance - Mercedes 500K



3rd Bill Navratil - Gatsby

CLASSIC D CLASS



1st Bob Bohaboy - Marlene



2nd Alex Penalosa - Mercedes SSK



3rd Dave DeCato - MG-TD

COBRA CLASS E



1st Curtis Tung - FFR Cobra



2nd Ed Robison - FFR Cobra



3rd Dean Hornbacher - Midstates Cobra

SPECIAL INTEREST CLASS



1st Gorden Rohse - '32 Ford Coupe



2nd Tony Moniz - Shay Ford Model A



LADIES CHOICEAndrew Rodarte - Sterling

OTHER AWARDS



BEST MANUFACTURER
GT Innovations - Buggy



KIT CAR BUILDER AWARD
Chuck Moomey - Pacific Roadster Cobra



VICE-PRESIDENT'S CHOICE Claude Calderon - Ferrari F-40

Apologies from the editor. I failed to get a picture.

SHOW CHAIR'S CHOICE
Patrick Friel- Porsche Speedster



WORKMANSHIP AWARD
Dave Jones - Ponrari



RECOGNITION AWARDRory Bateman - Tomahawk